“My spirit has ways of seeing that my eyes cannot comprehend.”


Friday, December 11, 2010


My spirit has ways of seeing that my eyes cannot comprehend.”     ~ Philippe Benichou

I feel my job, as an artist, is to make visible, as much as possible this seeing of the spirit. Some call this vision, but it doesn’t much matter what you call it, as long as you find a way to express it to others. The spirit is deep and has ways of seeing deeply into things that might just appear commonplace and without significance to others. The artist must mine the depths, and make them visible to others if her work is to be vital and of consequence.

Here is an image captured in my own back yard at the end of a day spent imaging in the Columbia Gorge. I joke it was the best image of the day; probably would not have been captured if I had not been imaging all day and therefore ready for the opportunity!

Enjoy,

Tom